Monday, May 24, 2021



written by STEVE ULRICH
your must-read briefing on what's driving the day in NCAA Division III

>> Good Monday Morning

>> To those teams who did not advance, congratulations on your accomplishments this season. And best wishes to those teams moving on.

>> Today's Word Count: 1,131 (4 1/2 minutes)

>> Thanks for reading D3Playbook. Tell a friend (or two) to subscribe. Forward our email today.

Sign Up for Free: D3Playbook

1. Perfect

Brian Bishop,

Salisbury won its fourth women's lacrosse national championship with a thrilling 14-13 victory over Tufts in Salem, Va. on Sunday.

Delaney Hill's unassisted goal with 6:24 remaining gave the Sea Gulls (20-0) a 14-10 lead and proved to be the difference. The Jumbos (10-1) tallied three times in the next 2:20 to cut the deficit to one but could not get the equalizer as Claire Wright's free position shot hit the post.

Hill and four other Salisbury players each had a pair of goals, while Catherine Lawliss tallied four times with two assists for Tufts.

>> NCAA Championships: TCNJ 12, Middlebury 7, Salisbury 4, Gettysburg 3, Ursinus 3, Franklin & Marshall 2, Amherst 1, Cortland 1, Hamilton 1, Trinity (Conn.) 1 

>> Game Story
>> Box Score
>> Game Highlights (1:21)
>> Full Replay


2. Down to Two

a men's lacrosse goal celebration

It will be RIT and Salisbury for the 2021 NCAA Division III men's lacrosse championship. The Tigers held off top-ranked Tufts, 18-16, while the slow-starting Sea Gulls turned a 5-1 deficit into an 18-8 victory against Christopher Newport.

The final is scheduled for Sunday at 4 p.m. at Rentschler Field at Pratt & Whitney Stadium in East Hartford, Conn.

#3 RIT d. #1 Tufts, 18-16

  • Dawson Tait scored five goals, while Quinn Commandant and Marley Angus each added four for the Tigers (13-0). Nick Montemorano won 23 draws for RIT. [Link]

#2 Salisbury d. #9 Christopher Newport, 18-8

  • Josh Melton scored five times and Jarrett Browmell tallied four as the Sea Gulls (16-2) rallied from a 5-1 deficit. Salisbury controlled the X, winning 21 of 28 draws. [Link]

3. The Elite Eight

NCAA Softball Region Champions

The NCAA Division III softball quarterfinalists are in place.

#1 DePauw d. Mount St. Joseph, 9-2

  • Drew Batcher drove in three runs and Cami Henry improved to 22-0. [Link]

#2 Texas Lutheran d. #15 Emory & Henry, 10-2

  • The defending national champion Bulldogs got a three-run homer from Sarah Metzer in a seven-run first inning. [Link]

#3 Virginia Wesleyan d. #10 TCNJ, 6-5

  • Karlee Fretz's two-run single in the fifth proved to be the game-winner as the Marlins held off the Lions. [Link]

#5 Birmingham-Southern d. #7 East Texas Baptist, 3-1

  • Hailee Bryan tossed a complete-game five-hitter for the Panthers. [Link]

#14 Rochester d. #16 St. John Fisher, 3-1

  • Emily Sharlach pitched six innings of scoreless relief. [Link]

#20 St. Thomas d. #24 St. Olaf, 3-0

  • Kendall Hopkins and Kierstin Anderson-Glass combined on a three-hitter. [Link]

UW-Oshkosh d. Piedmont, 6-1

  • Maddie Fink twirled a complete-game four-hitter for her 20th win. [Link]

Tufts d. Husson, 1-0

  • Sophia DiCocco twirled a complete-game one-hitter and a passed ball in the bottom of the seventh proved to be the difference. [Link]



4.  Field of Dreams

The NCAA Division III Baseball Committee has announced the 48 teams that will compete in the 2021 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

Six teams will compete at eight regional sites. All regionals will use a double-elimination format. Forty two conference champions qualified automatically.

Winners of the eight regional tournaments will qualify for the pool play double-elimination championship at Perfect Game Field at Veterans Memorial Stadium in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Friday-Tuesday/Wednesday, June 4-8/9, 2021.

Regional Brackets
  • E. Connecticut, Cortland, Keystone, Mitchell, Tufts, Merchant Marine 
  • St. Thomas (Minn.), Texas-Dallas, York (Pa.), Pacific, Chapman, Scranton
  • Washington (Mo.), Webster, Denison, Millikin, Transylvania, Illinois College
  • Southern Maine, Oswego, Wheaton (Mass.), Salve Regina, Husson, Johnson & Wales
  • Salisbury, Washington & Jefferson, LaGrange, Lynchburg, Birmingham-Southern, Marymount
  • Rowan, Marietta, NC Wesleyan, St. John Fisher, Rochester, PSU Behrend
  • Trinity (Texas), Aurora, Misericordia, Northwestern, Saint Mary's (Minn.), Johns Hopkins
  • Adrian, UW-Whitewater, Texas Lutheran, PSU Harrisburg, Luther, Salem State

bold indicates Pool C selections

>> Selection Release


5.  Rocky Top Tennessee

The Champions Club Tennis Complex at Rivermont Park in Chattanooga, Tenn., is the home of the NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Tennis championships this week.

Women's Quarterfinals

Wesleyan vs. Washington and Lee, 8:30 AM
  • The defending national champion Cardinals (8-0), led by Venia Yeung, take on the Generals (16-2) and Taylor Garcia who appear in the quarters for the 12th time.
Kenyon vs. Mary Washington, 8:30 AM
  • The Ladies (10-0) are in the final eight for the 10th time, while the Eagles (14-2) make their fifth trip to the quarters. Keep an eye on Kenyon's Erika Oku and UMW's Abby Moghtader.
Sewanee vs. Tufts, 11 AM
  • It's trip #3 to the quarters for the Tigers (10-2), while the Jumbos (8-1) make their first appearance in the elite eight. We're watching Sewanee's Emma Smith and Tufts' Tilly Rigby.
Emory vs. Southwestern, 11 AM
  • The seven-time champion Eagles (7-3) are in the quarterfinals for the 20th time, while the Pirates (17-4) have reached the final eight in their first-ever NCAA tournament. Emory's Ysabel Gonzalez-Rico and SU's Nina Mitrofanova should be the featured match.
Men's Quarterfinals

Emory vs. Brandeis, 2 PM
  • The five-time champion Eagles (7-3), who have qualified for each NCAA tournament since 1990, are led by Hayden Cassone. The Judges (8-1), led by Anupreeth Coramutla, are making their first tourney appearance since 1989.
Johns Hopkins vs. Williams, 2 PM
  • The Blue Jays (10-0) are making their first quarterfinal appearance, while the Ephs (8-1) are in the elite eight for the 13th time. We're watching JHU's Vishnu Joshi and Williams' Arturo Kam.
Trinity (Texas) vs. Case Western, 4:30 PM
  • The Tigers (16-7) and Cameron Krimbill are in the quarters for the fourth time, while the Spartans (12-2) are making their debut, led by James Hopper.
Washington (Mo.) vs. George Fox, 4:30 PM
  • The Bears (13-1) are in the elite eight for the eighth time while the Bruins (12-4) are in the NCAAs for the first time. Keep an eye on WashU's Ethan Hillis and GFU's Luke Lemaitre.

>> Tournament Central

Sign Up for Free: D3Playbook

6. Qualifiers

The NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Track and Field Committee announced the participants in the 2021 NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Championships.

For each men’s individual event contested, including the decathlon, the top 17 declared student-athletes were accepted into the competition. For each women’s individual event contested, including the heptathlon, the top 19 declared student-athletes were accepted into the competition. For each relay event contested, the top 14 declared relay teams, one per institution, were accepted into the competition.

The championships will be held May 27-29 at the Irwin Belk Track in Greensboro, North Carolina.

>> Women's Accepted Entries
>> Men's Accepted Entries
>> Championship Website


7.  Comings and Goings


Open Mailbox with Raised Flag on Apple iOS 14.2  Thanks for starting your day with us. Please invite your friends to sign up for D3Playbook
Copyright © 2021, All rights reserved.

No comments:

Post a Comment