Wednesday, December 18, 2019

NCAA Award Winners

DECEMBER 18, 2019 | written by STEVE ULRICH
your must-read briefing on what's driving the day in NCAA Division III

Our goal is to keep you - the influencers in DIII athletics - apprised of what's happening around Division III - the games, polls, news, happenings, awards, calendar of events, and much more. We hope you enjoy D3Playbook and that you'll share this with your friends, colleagues and co-workers.
>> ⚖️ Today is a day we'll always remember — one that will be studied as long as people study politics.

>> Thanks for reading D3Playbook. Please invite your colleagues to sign up below.

>> Today's Word Count: 892.

Subscribe to d3Playbook

1. NCAA Award Winners

The NCAA has announced its annual awards that will be presented at the NCAA Convention in Anaheim in January.

Former New Jersey City basketball captain Bob Delaney is the recipient of the Theodore Roosevelt Award - the highest honor given by the Association - given to an individual who exemplifies the ideals of college sports.

His story is amazing and one that is worth your time - going deep undercover to cozy up to Mafia families and learn firsthand how organized crime infiltrated legitimate businesses in New Jersey; dealing with post-traumatic stress; turning to basketball officiating and working his way up to the NBA; and becoming a champion and a proponent of a less clinical approach to mental health issues, focusing on education and awareness of post-traumatic stress.

Ten exceptional former student-athletes, including two from Division III, will be recognized as the 2020 Today's Top 10 Award winners, recognizing former student-athletes for their successes on the field, in the classroom and in the community. 
>> Cassandra Laios, Case Western Reserve
>> Hannah Orbach-Mandel, Kenyon

Six former college athletes, including a Division III standout, will receive the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award that annually recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their college athletics careers.

>> Dr. Carla Ainsworth, Kenyon

2.  Dutton Named NEAC Commissioner

Interim Commissioner Stephanie Dutton has been named the next Commissioner of the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC), as announced by the NEAC Presidents’ Council.
Dutton joined the NEAC in January 2017 as the Assistant Commissioner for Sports Information before assuming the role of Interim Commissioner in August. Since August, she has led the efforts to add a new member to the NEAC in recently announced St. Mary’s College of Maryland, coordinated a conference-wide SAAC Mental Health Awareness initiative in October and worked closely with the Board of Athletic Directors and the Presidents’ Council to begin reorganizing conference operations.
“The NEAC is proud to announce that Stephanie Dutton has accepted the full-time Commissioner position beginning January 1, 2020,” said Dr. Davie Gilmour, Penn College President, and NEAC Presidents’ Council Chair. “In her previous roles, Stephanie has demonstrated her leadership, her commitment to our student-athletes, and her strong support of both the NEAC Presidents’ Council and athletic directors. We are fully confident in her vision for the future as we strive to be a national leader in Division III athletics.”

>> What They're Saying: “I’ve had the chance in the last few months to see first-hand that the presidents and athletic directors are dedicated to building a future for the NEAC that is rooted in open communication, collaboration, and a steadfast commitment to all facets of the student-athlete experience." - Dutton

3.  Best of the Decade 

We continue our "Best of the Decade" series with a look at the champions, runners-up and World Series participants in baseball.

Champions: Marietta (2), Cal Lutheran, Chapman, Cortland, Illinois Wesleyan, Linfield, Trinity TX, UT-Tyler, UW-Whitewater

Runner-Up: Birmingham-Southern, Chapman, Cortland, Emory, Keystone, Southern Maine, Texas Lutheran, UW-La Crosse, Washington & Jefferson, Wheaton MA

Final Eight Appearances: Cortland (4), Webster (4), Emory (3), Kean (3), Linfield (3), Salisbury (3), UMass Boston (3), UW-Whitewater (3), Chapman (2), Concordia-Chicago (2), Heidelberg (2), Johns Hopkins (2), Keystone (2), Marietta (2), Oswego State (2), Southern Maine (2), St. Thomas (2), Trinity TX (2), UW-La Crosse (2), UW-Stevens Point (2), Washington & Jefferson (2), Wheaton MA (2), Babson, Baldwin Wallace, Birmingham-Southern, Buena Vista, Cal Lutheran, Christopher Newport, Frostburg State, Illinois Wesleyan, Ithaca, LaRoche, Manchester, Millsaps, Misericordia, North Central, Ramapo, Randolph-Macon, Roanoke, Shenandoah, St. John Fisher, Swarthmore, Texas Lutheran, UT-Tyler, Western New England, Whitworth, Wooster.
Coming Thursday: Softball.


Would you like to sponsor this newsletter? Would you like to advertise an open position in your department for a head coach or administrator? Contact to get your job opening in front of decision-makers in small-college athletics.

4.  About Last Night 

 Michael Phifer scored 36 points and collected 10 rebounds as Greensboro (7-2) improved to 7-2 with a 99-95 win against La Grange (2-5).

  Nolan Beirne knocked down a pair of free throws with 2.8 remaining in overtime as St. Norbert (5-2) defeated defending national champ UW-Oshkosh (5-4), 96-95.

  Maya Davis scored on a put-back with 1.9 left and Betsy Knox blocked a last-second attempt as Middlebury (7-1) edged Nazareth (6-2), 83-82, in overtime. Davis finished with 17 points and 16 rebounds. Rachel Benedict led the Flyers with 29 points.

5.  Comings and Goings

6.   Thing

Data: Pew Research Center; Chart: Axios Visuals
The long battle over which Christian denomination's sermons go longest is perhaps over:
  • The Pew Research Center used “computational techniques to identify, collect and analyze the sermons that U.S. churches livestream or share on their websites” over a stretch of eight weeks.

- courtesy of Axios
Subscribe to d3Playbook

No comments:

Post a Comment